The Challenge of Obtaining Voter Identification

Ten states now have unprecedented restrictive voter ID laws. Alabama, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Mississippi, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Wisconsin all require citizens to produce specific types of government-issued photo identification before they can cast a vote that will count. …  This report is the first comprehensive assessment of the difficulties that eligible voters face in obtaining free photo ID. [cont.]

Brennan Center for Justice at NYU School of Law